The Spider Cave

Book: The Wheel of Time: Winter’s Heart (Book 9)

Posted on: September 2, 2012

image

My first proper review on my blog. I am a big fan of The Wheel of Time and this is book 9 of 14 so if you are new to this, you might want to go back and start from book 1. The last book is due release the start of next year so you have about four months left.

Well, first thing is first. Thank God for the winter. I was dreading to see Andor covered in snow and it happened. And what a lovely name to the book: Winter’s Heart.

Most people think the story drags a little bit. I am a bit different. The story does drag but not enough for you to put the book down. The sub plots have scattered all over the world. I think I am a little bit lost tracking where is everybody, which party of Aes Sedai is where. It is all a bit of shambles but you get to know. For example the storyline of Bethamine and Egeanin requires you have a good understanding of the plot in book 4 but luckily I am listening to Audio Books too so hopefully it will clear everything.

Perrin’s POV was fast paced and over in a blink. That’s it. A bit disappointed. Mat’s storyline was dull. I was not even interested in Tuon until she revealed she was the daughter. Then it got interesting. Near at the end his storyline accelerated and came to a kind of cliffhanger.

Elayne’s POV was boring of all but it was good too. I like Andor’s politics and how she manages it. Aviendha was awesome as always. What the hell is wrong with Birgitte? I am beginning to hate that woman.

Egwene was not even in this book and it was for better. Her story I am looking forward to, hopefully in the next book.

And lastly the best and dangerous. Rand. His POV was the best. It was medium paced but you get a feeling that something very epic is about to happen and it does happen with the Choedan Kal. Them last 60 or 70 pages were 10 out of 10. The pace breaks all the barriers resulting Jordan delivering a high class fantasy climax. The way everything connected and locked was amazing. I was amazed by the events that unfolded at the end. And just for that I would say this would be my most favourite novel of all out of the series. Everything was clear and simple yet amazing. This is my problem with Jordan. He makes things difficult so I have a hard time catching up what is happening or what has happened. Maybe it is just me.

This novel is like a pinball machine. You pull the bar, the events unfolding at a steady pace then you release and everything happens so quick and awesome. I think Jordan has written this novel very well and most of all it is executed beautifully. You are in for a rollercoaster.

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

