The Spider Cave

Book: It by Stephen King

Posted on: March 18, 2013

image

This one was crazy, like mess-up-your-mind crazy. It makes you relive your childhood fears like for me I thought of this thing coming out of the toilet while I’m going downstairs and then I would take a big jump out to save myself. Quite similar.

I first bought It and started reading it in 2005 but couldn’t get through the first few pages because I was still learning English. These books were really hard for me. I left it. I did read the Shining and the Dark Tower but I just read them without much understanding.

So last year my sister had read it then she told me you have to read this. She started reading The Stand while I started It and to be honest, I really liked it. I actually had to dump 50 shades darker to read this. I just loved the way King introduces the characters then takes us back in time of childhood then adulthood then back then a mix of past future to finish things off. It was intelligent alright.

The story was one of its kind, the drama, the horror was sick. The concept of It was scary. For me It, as a child, was always around and It only attacked me when I’m going down the stairs as the stairs were directly in front of the bathroom and It would come from the toilet. Then I would jump the whole 13 stairs and It would stretch Itself from the toilet but couldn’t get past the stairs so that is how I saved myself every time.

I read the last 200 pages in one day and the ending, I think, was brilliant. A lot of people might disagree but for me it was just superbly written even the most controversial scene. King had pulled that off really good and that scene is one of my favourites now. It was very in-character and well thought out.

To finish things off, I would say It was a good read. If you are looking for pure horror without the supernatural addition and drama and story, this is the book for you. Personally I don’t really like horror but the story line made up for it. I would give it 8/10 for the horror, the gore, the graphic scenes, 7/10 for the story. And 7.5/10 overall.

Until next time, cheerio.

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

